Login Get News Updates
For local news delivered via email enter address here:
Profile Subscriptions Mobile Tablet
Local News September 5, 2013  RSS feed

Get Out And Vote In Tuesday’s Primaries

Choose Nominees For City Gov’t.
by Robert Pozarycki

New Yorkers will begin the process of forming a new city government this Tuesday, Sept. 10, as registered voters will head to the polls to select their respective parties’ nominees for mayor, city comptroller, public advocate, borough president and a number of City Council seats.

Polls will be open on Tuesday from 6 a.m. until 9 p.m. across the five boroughs. For information on voting or to find a polling place, call 1-212-VOTE-NYC or visit www.vote.nyc.ny.us. Only voters registered with a specific political party will be able to participate in their party’s respective primaries.

For this round of primaries, voters will cast their choices using man- ual lever machines last used in the 2010 general election. The state authorized the use of these devices, rather than the optical scan voting machines, over concerns recounts may not be completed—and the newer machines would not be ready—in time for a potential runoff election on Tuesday, Oct. 1.

The lever machines will be used in any necessary runoff, but the optical scan voting devices will be back in use for the November general election.

The choices Democratic voters have for mayor are (in order of appearance on the ballot) former City Council Member Sal Albanese of Bay Ridge, activist and comedian Randy Credico of Manhattan, Public Advocate Bill de Blasio of Park Slope, Bronx attorney Neil Grimaldi, City Comptroller John Liu of Flushing, City Council Speaker Christine Quinn of Manhattan, minister Erick Salgado of Staten Island, former City Comptroller William Thompson of Manhattan and former Rep. Anthony Weiner of Manhattan.

Recent polls show de Blasio with a lead, but there remains a strong possibility that the race may not be decided on Primary Day.

In any primary contest, should no candidate receive 40 percent of the primary vote, the top two finishers in that race will advance to the Oct. 1 runoff election.

Republican voters, meanwhile, will need to choose from a slate of three candidates seeking to become mayor. They are businessman John Catsimatidis of Manhattan, former MTA Chairman and CEO Joseph Lhota of Brooklyn and Doe Fund founder George McDonald of Manhattan. Recent polls indicate a tight race and a large number of undecided voters, and a runoff in this contest may also be necessary if no one candidate receives 40 percent of the vote.

The Democratic and Republican nominees, once decided by the voters, will face each other in the Nov. 5 general election for the right to succeed Michael Bloomberg as New York City’s 109th mayor.

There are no Republican primaries for city comptroller and public advocate, but Democratic voters will need to pick their party’s nominees for both offices.

Five candidates are in the Democratic Party race for the public advocate nomination: professor Catherine Guerriero of Manhattan, City Council Member Letitia James of Clinton Hill, Deputy Public Advocate Reshma Saujani of Manhattan, State Sen. Daniel Squadron of Park Slope and professor Sidique Wai of Fort Greene.

Democrats have only to choose between one of two Manhattan residents for city comptroller: former Gov. Eliot Spitzer and Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer.

Queens Democrats will also choose a candidate to succeed the term-limited Helen Marshall as borough president. Those competing for the office are businessman Everly D. Brown of Rosedale, former City Council Member Melinda Katz of Forest Hills and City Council Member Peter Vallone Jr. of Astoria. State Sen. Tony Avella remains on the borough president primary ballot despite having dropped out of the race.

Brooklyn Democrats, meanwhile, will also vote in a primary for Kings County District Attorney, in which long-time incumbent Charles J. Hynes is being challenged by former prosecutor Ken Thompson.

Local races

All 51 City Council seats will be up for grabs in the November general election, but Democratic voters in many local City Council districts will need to choose nominees for seats in this Tuesday’s primary.

Highlighting the local races is the contest for the 34th City Council District seat (parts of Ridgewood, Bushwick, East Williamburg and Williamsburg) to replace incumbent Diana Reyna, who is term-limited.

Headlining the ballot are embattled former Assemblyman Vito Lopez of Bushwick and Reyna’s chief-ofstaff Antonio Reynoso of Williamsburg. They are also facing former Democratic District Leader Gladys Santiago of East Williamsburg and Bushwick resident Humberto Soto.

Two Democrats are squaring off for the right to challenge Republican City Council Member Eric Ulrich for his 32nd City Council District seat (parts of Woodhaven, Richmond Hill, Ozone Park, South Ozone Park, Lindenwood, Howard Beach, Broad Channel and the Rockaways) in the November general election. They are Democratic District Leader Lew Simon of Rockaway Park and Ozone Park property manager William Ruiz.

Incumbent City Council Member Ruben Wills is being challenged by three Democrats for his 28th City Council District seat (parts of Richmond Hill, Ozone Park, South Ozone Park, Jamaica, John F. Kennedy Airport and parts of southeastern Queens).

Those looking to oust Wills are business owner Eugen Walter Evans of Rochdale, Community Board 12 member David B. Kayode of Jamaica and attorney Hettie V. Powell of Jamaica.

Democrats in the 53rd Assembly District—which includes parts of Bushwick, East Williamsburg and Williamsburg—will also select a nominee to replace former Assemblyman Lopez.

Three candidates are on the ballot in that contest: Democratic District Leader Maritza Davila; Charveys Gonzalez, legislative director to State Sen. Martin Malavé Dilan; and Jason Otano, former general counsel to Brooklyn Borough President Marty Markowitz.